Recently Posted Reviews

Hulubulu June 24, 2024
The first two nights were great. Night 3 was on a different level. Goose went Mach 5 at the Fox Theatre starting with Arrow into the now legendary three song set two. If we had gotten the madhuvan in set two, the boys might have burned the place down, which would have sucked because I am seeing Khruangbin and King Gizzard there later this year. 

AliciaTeaParty June 23, 2024
I couldn't be happier for these good ol boys!!! But oh my heart- they done stole it on my 4th show with GIVE IT TIME!! Hands down the best lights at a show I've ever seen. The TOTAL vibe, not only from the band, but the fans is heartwarming, fun, positive, and I am just SO impressed by their talent! I can't wait to see them again....and again...and again- until one day I get to have a tea party with them  🍵 

mikey June 20, 2024
This show was straight gas from the first note of the whales to the last note of piña colada. Pancakes melted, the train came by during Peters solo in Hot Tea and the venue erupted. Helluva show.

Rubbish June 19, 2024
7th so far, and IMO, that second set is the best I have heard from them yet. Went in hoping for my 1st Redbird, and got it. Looking at the setlist I wouldn't guess it would be one of my favorites, but again, it is always about HOW they play, Not WHAT.  perfect weather, decent seats, and great company, old and new. I didn't see anyone leaving the show that hadn't gotten at least as much as they were hoping for, if not moreso. Onward and upward. My first Cotter show only left me wanting more. So excited for much more in September. So much thankfulness.  Worth the download.

ndphillips June 17, 2024
This was my first in-person Goose show, and the setlist couldn't have been better! That second set was banger after banger. 

The Arrow (28 minutes long!) was the best I've ever heard from the feathered boys. The crests and falls, the sweeps of tension and release, the apotheosis of dissonance into bliss -- truly stunning stuff! That alone was worth the price of my seat. 

Borne was also a highlight! Those laddered guitar lines are just breathtaking. Interluding with the Sleep Walker instrumental made for a beautiful comedown after Borne's peak, but then served as a launching pad to go into the Borne jam, which was incredible. 

Personally, I've been getting into White Lights a lot more recently as just a hell of a number to dance to, so I was happy it closed out Set 2. 

Slow Ready was the song I wanted the most, and thankfully the Honkers rewarded the fervent crowd by melting our faces with this one. The jam is a bit formulaic at this point, but, like Coke and KFC before them, when the formula is that good, you just keep it the same and deliver. And they sure as hell delivered! 

A serendipitous highlight of the night was when a boat -- the Goodtime III -- passed by and honked in time and tune with "Your Ocean." 

VikingWarrior June 16, 2024
solid set. will be underrated based on many of the other really great shows already played this tour and especially after the epic canadaigua show. Eminence Front teased during Thatch. Typical festival crowd.

Cat_Daddy June 14, 2024
Excellent show. The mix was pretty good - a bit much bass that drowned out the keys and guitar (3rd row of section 103). I like Trevor up in the mix, but it was a bit much. The SBD recording sounds better. Madhuvan was the obvious highlight. The jam had some great elements - heavy psychadelica, bliss, deep dark urgency. Cotter is a great addition and the band is playing incredibly tight. 

powpow June 10, 2024
Stellar. All-time Madhuvan, Give It Time and Traveler's/Elmeg made for a fantastic show. They took Drive for a spin as well. First set was so-so but the second set and encore were 10/10 Goose.

jiveghost June 9, 2024
A step back from night 1. The last 5 min of Madhuvan are very good, they locked into a great flow there. If everything in most of the jams tonight would have been half as long I'd have twice as interested. The band sounds good but they still struggle with tunnel vision. Peak the jam and move on and if a jam is becoming inflexible end it instead of peaking it for 5 minutes straight. 

vibe9 June 8, 2024
No California was the gift I never expected but always wanted. Don't sleep on this Wysteria or the Jive Lee. Too early to say how good it is among the other Wysterias, but all I know is I felt like we were travelling in another dimension with the intensity and glory that this jam packed in. Venue not great, but the band's energy was fierce which more than made up for it.

My first show seeing Cotter, he's the real deal and the band is now on a new level, a different path, and in what seems a very confident and happy zone.

Rafedanos June 8, 2024
Best so of the cotter era so far. 
That wysteria was one of the best jams I've ever heard and my JOTY until topped. 
Jeff and cotter are starting to play so well together! 
The second set was the best set of music I have ever heard. 
WOW. 


VikingWarrior May 14, 2024
Am I the only one hearing the Hollywood Nights tease in the middle of the jam in All I Need?......Loving these "early" Goose shows post Covid. They were so fired to play the bigger venues and rock out with the crowd. Westville is a special place.

jsieber April 3, 2024
First Goose show and I really enjoyed it. I came into the show knowing very little about them and left a huge fan. Excellent cover of the Killing Moon to open the show. Time to Flee, Red Bird, and the Peter Gabriel cover In Your Eyes all stood out. The build-up in the jams was strong and the crowd was mellow but into the music. Looking forward to seeing them again!

RobertDonald April 3, 2024
Truly perfect show. Blew my mind. Setlist, energy, venue just phenomenal. 
shout out to the big dude stage left of audience who kept bellowing "YEAH" multiple times during the show. 

RobertDonald April 3, 2024
Remarkable and underrated show. 
starting with Lead the Way this show just absolutely floats into outer space. The second set is absolutely fire from start to finish. 

MAMUguy March 31, 2024
To end the previous night with Honeybee and open this show with Butterflies was genius... it was like we hadn't left the building. Any show with Madhuvan, Empress and Hot Tea has got to be smokin'!

MAMUguy March 31, 2024
7 minutes into Dr. Darkness I knew that I was, yet again, in the exact right place at the right time. Then it happened again 7 minutes into Doc Brown. Spain was magical. Jive Lee is probably the best ever. To end the show with Honeybee and open the second night with Butterfly was genius... it was like we hadn't left the building. These two shows at the National are the most overlooked shows that I always direct the flock to check out while I'm waiting in line to get in the next show. Outstanding. And when will I get to see them in this size venue again?

OnitsukaTiga February 18, 2024
Fun show, second of the tour I went to. Tribute to Gold starts were funny and memorable. My favorite Madhuvan I've seen to date. No rain!!!

OnitsukaTiga February 18, 2024
My first Goose show. I was a big fan of 'Lead the Way' and 'Elizabeth' at the time going into the Peach show. Friends tried texting me to meet up at the Greensky Bluegrass set and I wrote back.....I'm not Fucking leaving!!! You come here!!

Left with Hot Tea stuck in my head and a feeling like my life just changed lolol. My bank account did, that's for sure

hunn360 January 22, 2024
First Goose show and first Red Rocks show for my girlfriend and I - overwhelming is an understatement!  Found a nice group of guys from the east coast to chat with in the lot before the show, they were seasoned jam band fans and seemed excited that we were new fans.  Lost them the second we got through security so we found some seats toward the top of the amphitheater and settled in.  Echo of a Rose was a fitting opener for us as it was one of the first songs we both latched on to, then just before a note was played my girlfriend called Mr. Action - her face lights up upon hearing the intro.  I Would Die 4 U was incredible and completely unexpected, it took us a while to realize what the song even was and since the show I've listened to that cover so many times now.  Everything Must Go was the first real face melter and I remember looking around to see if everyone was as blown away as I was.  Seemed like RIck didn't want to stop jamming to that one.  It was getting cold outside for the second set but the band brought heat starting immediately with Thatch (one of my bucket list songs I had been hoping to hear along with Factory Fiction which they also ended up playing!)  The crowd went nuts for What's Up cover and I doubt there was a single person not singing along.  A clear and cold night to remember!

deathcab December 9, 2023
show had spaceship theme with spaceship lights. first set had a mirror theme and second set had a fire theme with pyros. band was locked in and having fun. jams went to fun places. about all you could ask for from a goosemas. burning down the house ripped. venue made it feel like you were in a spaceship

DJVUK November 26, 2023
Goose nearly exploded on London's Electric Ballroom stage for this, the bands' first-ever London gig and the penultimate night of their inaugural UK/European tour.

Peter 'Luigi' Anspach as-ever played MC, cheerleader and musical polymath, thanking the crowd from the get-go for selling out the biggest room of the tour, before launching into a relentless Arrow, off the much lauded Dripfield.l LP.

Set 1 was Dripfield-heavy, with richly interpreted versions of fan favorites Borne, Slow Ready and Hot Tea. The Clash's Rock The Casbah was a cheeky nod to 'The Big Smoke' (London). All of which brought the house down.

Set 2 was equally jam-heavy and adventurous. Red Bird spacily jammed into Moby then into Arcadia was a Goose jam for the ages. Somehow the band found another gear and closed this celebratory London show with a sprawling Empress of Organos sandwich around a Shammalama Ding Dong filling.

Squawk on, feathered friends!!

Yweiman November 9, 2023




Ghost in the Machine





If I Wanted Someone





Still Feel Like a Kid





Less Than Five Miles Away





Someone Else's Café/Doomscroller Tries to Relax





Feed the Fire





From a Window Seat

(with Rick Mitarotonda)





When My Time Comes





All Your Favorite Bands




TTKammer November 9, 2023
For the first time since 2018, Goose made their way back to the Motor City. Someone must have reminded them that there ain't no party like a Detroit party, because they showed up, took names, and kicked asses! There was a lot of excitement leading up to this show, which was apparent by the buzz around downtown all afternoon, and all the out-of-state license plates I saw. The weather was also fantastic, and everyone at the bars and restaurants surrounding the venue, as well as those in line in front of the Masonic Temple, just knew the stage was set for something very special to go down! 

 

The show kicked-off with Turbulence and the Night Rays, and The Whales… both of which  fit well into those opening slots. At around 10 minutes each, they were just long enough to build some excitement and tease the jamming that would come later in the show, but short enough to keep the show moving along. It didn’t take long for them to bust into the first big number of the night… a 24-minute version of Wysteria Lane in spot three. This wouldn’t be the longest of the four big jams this evening (surprisingly)… but it was wonderful to get so early in the show. This effortlessly transitioned into Electric Avenue, which the crowd absolutely loved (I was happy to hear it as well, as it had been on my “wish list” for years). A solid, underrated, 17-minute Red Bird followed, and closed out the first set. The jam had those hints of Reba in it, got a little dirty, and then wound down gently to close the set in a way that I don’t see them do often (talking about taking set break while they’re still finishing the song… Rick called it the “transitioning into set break music”). Jeff must have had to pee or something, because he bailed from behind his drum kit before the band actually finished the song… leading to some jokes and teasing from Peter and Rick. “Have a great set break everyone”. “Apparently Jeff’s already having a great set break”. :)

 

Yeti was a great, high-energy way to kick off set two… followed up by fairly short (original/slow-style) Borne. Hungersite was up next, and would prove to be the third big jam number of the night. For whatever reason, this seems to be the overlooked gem of the evening, so do yourself a favor and give this one a listen. As Hungersite approached the 20-minute mark, the band segued into The Clash’s Rock the Casbah (for the first time in over 40 shows), with Jeff on vocals. On a side note, I totally called this song a few days before, and even had it on my bingo card and my Fantasy Goose list (yes… I am that nerd). I was listening to an earlier version and caught a line that goes something like  “the temple band took fire…”, which I felt was just too fitting for them not to play at the Masonic Temple. Anyway… Casbah was short and sweet, followed by a 10-minute 726… which was the perfect “breather” before the set-closing Arrow, which went over 28 minutes, and would turn out to be what I feel was the best jam of the night. The band left the stage for a minute or two, and returned to play Silver Rising in the encore sport, which I do not believe they had ever played as an encore. The perfect opportunity to exhale, regroup, and pull myself together before leaving the venue.

 

Overall, a magical night in Detroit! I ran into old Phish friends and new Goose friends, got to visit a bunch of my favorite hangout spots downtown, snagged a great event poster from Naveed, and added another amazing show to my resume. Thank you Goose. You showed us you know why we call it Detroit Rock City!

 

TTKammer November 9, 2023
There’s something rather interesting, somewhat unique, and very special about this show in Royal Oak. Right off the bat, It’s only 10 songs. It contains a few ballads, a few new songs, a song that is as disliked as much as that Martin Shrkelii guy (not really sure why), a classic rock cover, and a “crowd pleaser” or two. It  doesn’t contain a lot of those songs you would hear at a festival or when you’re first getting into Goose, and on paper… could be easily overlooked. That said… anyone who was at this show, and/or anyone who has taken the time to listen to this show a few times, knows that this is a front-runner for best show of 2022. 


The show starts with a massive Borne (only the 5th time they’d played it), that finally stretched its legs past the 20 minute mark. At one point I was certain that they were gonna segue into 2001, but it ended up taking a different direction. They moved on to SOS next, which was also quite lengthy, and contained a wonderful “dawn” section. Life on the Shelf was next. It was short and sweet, but a good breather after a two-song/40 minute opening. After just five minutes, Life on the Shelf segued into what is arguably the biggest jam of 2022, (and the longest song they had played to date). At 38 minutes, this becomes a benchmark that won’t be eclipsed for another year (Echo from Seattle in April of ‘23 at 45 minutes). The jam undoubtedly goes into Echo of a Rose, but for some reason they pulled the reins back, and decided not to commit to it. If that wasn’t enough for one set, we got a 13 minute Jeff Engborg to close the 93 minutes set (a song which had only been played by Goose twice prior to this evening). 

 

Set two kicks off with a gorgeous 726 that pushed past the 20 minute mark, an amazing version of Madhuvan (which also pushed past 20 minutes), the rare Jackson Brown song Doctor My Eyes, and a ripping Yeti to close the second set out. After the obligatory “walk off”, the guys returned to give us one more… a little Butter Rum as a nightcap.

 

Again… this is one of those “if you know, you know” kind of shows. It doesn’t look like much when you quickly glance at the setlist, but damn… it is the dictionary definition of a “Hidden Gem”. If you haven’t listened to this one, seek it out! Oh… and the show poster is one of the best of the tour. 

Hottea94 November 8, 2023
Experienced this show from row 3 center and it was magical. Opening with Echo really set the tone for the best Goose show I've experienced to date. Favorites of the show have to be EMG, I would die 4 u, hungersite, and what's up for the crowd singalong. How can I forget the dragon fly teases from Rick in factory fiction. 

MattBlaker October 21, 2023
This might just be the best show they have ever played. A perfect setlist of originals and outstanding covers at the perfect moments each set. The stretch from I would die for you>EMG>AIN>Yeti is incredible. Thatch set two set opener was unbelievable and the FF with dragonfly jam solidified this at the top of my musical journey. 

the_which_stage October 9, 2023
This band just keeps getting better. I previously stated that the Detroit show was my favorite, but RRN2 takes the cake.

Everything Must Go > All I Need > Yeti was wonderful. The best Everything Must Go to date. Some of the best covers to date with I Would Die 4 U and What's Up.

Favorites: Everything Must Go, Yeti, Thatch, What's Up

timmy_twamp September 26, 2023
Best show of my life. Killing Moon opener was gripping right out of the gates, Drive was killer, maybe GOAT Thatch and definitely a JOTY contender, mid set Dripfield was so drip, Mad/Moby/Mad was awesome. The whole show ripped and what a venue. Just wow.

The sound was absolutely perfect. The band was relaxed yet ripping and so on point. Can't wait for this one to make it onto YouTube as a full show.

mrscottieking September 21, 2023
Sept 16/23 Masonic Temple

 

The night was beautiful as was the venue. Grand old building and it was packed. I attended this show with a great mix of a Phish fan who had never seen Goose, a veteran Deadhead who dislikes Phish but loves Goose, and a rock and roll fan who isn’t a head but loves the Goose. I love them all. Multiple perspectives, no one left disappointed.

Set 1 –

Got things rolling with a Turbulence. A perfect song to kick it off with as always, well written and slinky little groove, I noticed right off the bat, Rick’s tone is golden, dirty and clear. Vastly different than the last time I saw them. Into the Whales, a song I now love because of the live experience (never jumped off the tapes before for me) And then the notes start Wysteria. Bam! Energy in the room skyrockets. Great jam that gets super syncopated at the mid point, and rides that synthy drone as Peter switches from guitar to the keys. Just when we think it’s done, Peter throw Rick a mischievous elf smile and rides a new Latin based groove out. Jeb and Spuds can’t resist. Perfect segue into Electric Avenue to grab the crowd once more. Finally Red Bird, which for the purposes of this interview we will just call Reba Bird, and it is deserved. Unfortunately, a hasty exit by Jeff cuts the set “short” but wow. Just a perfect first set.

 

Set 2 – Yeti brings the funk to re-engage the gluteus maximus and up the energy. Next up, Borne, the slow song that is so much more. Personally, living an incredibly busy life right now, the 24 hours away from job and family all came crashing in for the first of two times I would tear up. “someday, someday I will lay my head down” I say this in life and in this room, I sang it to the rafters! Then the rift, the Hungersite, the song of my summer last year and the one I used to hook many a new fan. It’s a great version, with Rick’s improved tone right up front. I hesitate to use the guitar god moniker but the mix in the room thrust him up and we all followed. Solid version. Next Jeb shakes off the bathroom break and Rocks the Casbah (Let Jeff Sing) and sends us to my next cry of the night. I took a walk around the venue during 726, head full of goodness and just soaking it up from every angle. I stopped and stared at the stage as my second favorite Goose ballad was played, welling up again, so grateful for the life I lead and an official goodbye to the summer. And then the notes of Arrow as I sprint back to my crew, to be rewarded with the get down throw down of a top shelf, manic, energy bomb that is Arrow. Bam, set.

 

Encore – While it would be later revealed that we were in for a Tumble at this point, you could not have chosen a more perfect emotional beautiful ending to this evening than Silver Rising. My alpha ballad, they played with such genuine emotion, and washed us home with perfection, leaving everyone in the room feeling like they had just been hugged and loved. Detroit will be returned to, and I will be there. An absolute five star show and should be in  the mix for a top five appearance for show of the year.

the_which_stage September 18, 2023
This was the best Goose show I have seen to date. Peter really shown (singing, and guitar solos.



Most likely the best Wysteria Lane of 2023. Electric Ave and Rock the Casbah were great covers. Arrow and Hungersite jams were on point. Peter was outstanding on this date - both singing and with guitar solos. Happy to have seen Red Bird for the first time.

Favorites: Wysteria, Red Bird, Hungersite, Arrow.

Idonthategoose September 17, 2023
Correction kept referring to Pete as Scott in my review, have no idea why i called him Scott. And  failed to mention the very good  Wisteria lane.

Dont think their sound was right for a venue like the Masonic. Their sound is more of an outdoor music, so are the fans.

Guess I had an over expectation, hoping for something that this band wasn't. I'd see Goose again if I get the chance.

Idonthategoose September 17, 2023
Okay so first Goose show. Heard alot of hype I generally enjoy their music.

Historic Masonic Temple, been their a few times love the venue.

Doors opened at 630 band didn't hit stage til 830. This might be common I don't know all I know is I waited in line a half an hour to wait in my seat for 2 hours. Also saw a roadie put a sheet of paper out at each musician's place, if that was a setlist they cannot be called a "jam band"

First set was okay Electric avenue was fun but Red Bird was best of set.

Between 1 and 2 set a man had to be resuscitated and was taken out on a stretcher while over imbibed fans danced.

Second set great Yeti opener, thought I didn't like Scott but this performance changed my mind completely. I thought I liked the Rick vocal songs, but this show completely switched it to Scott being my favorite vocalist.

Hungersite got big applause but went nowhere, Rick did not seem in step. Rock the Casba killed the vibe.

A few of their songs sounded the same. Wasn't much jamming just Rick soloing to a crescendo a couple of times. The band does not need to stretch out their songs they need to turn on a dime always pushing for something different playing off of each other.

Not saying they ate not talented, very talented group of musicians. They just didn't appear to push each other to greater heights.

Don't know if this was an off night.

Overall just bearly worth the price of parking

cgroove September 14, 2023
Trucker and flannel Rick like its 2019. Throwback setlist. A very well designed and unique setlist as well. Flee segue into the Lookout Cleveland jam was filthy. Jive Lee was a dance party. Band brought the dance vibe into the second set with Rockdale and Butter Rum. Bliss jam in Madhuvan was my set 2 highlight. Split SOS Dawn very nice 

ThatcherR6 August 3, 2023
I can't judge since this was my first in-person show for Goose but it exceeded all my expectations for El Goose!!

Rockdale set in motion what the audience was to expect for their two-night stay in Philly. Nasty grooves that transition from the Bb Mixolydian jam to a speedy and tasteful Ab major jam then back into the main form. 20 minutes of pure fun and it's only the first song of the show.

Atlas Dogs>Love is a Battlefield shocked me and my friend that went to the show with me. Atlas Dogs was a song I listened to a lot from 2022 tapes, but I was expecting to be sent into a jam but was delighted to see them do Pat Benatar, one that my mom loves from her high school times. I showed her this rendition and she was thoroughly impressed (and she does not like jam band music)

EMG had a very soulful solo from Rick. TOMB had really good solos from Rick during his solo in the main part of the song and Peter was really loving the Rhodes and synth and Rick just went along with the feel made by Ben/Jeff and Tweekz, a nice breather. At the beginning of Thatch, I thought they were trying to shoot for Madhuvan but this didn't disappoint at all. Rick slayed as per usual, but this rendition's jam reminded me of a funkier version of Easy Wind.

I'm not a huge fan of Animal, but the jam was pretty fun. It seemed more feel focused than just trying to rip it up. 

The first time I heard Feel It Now was when they performed it for the first time. I watched n4 of the Capital Theater run. Not drastically different from then but still a good time. Reminds me of a more psychedelic song you'd hear in something like Persona 5.

Echo I think is probably the best and second-longest jam I've ever seen (Philly Dead & Co Dark Star 11/16/17). Clocking in at 28:45, the mood changes making the atmosphere dark. The band went from the typical happy-go-lucky feel of the main structure to the A Mixolydian feel, then Peter decides to change it up. A B Dorian jam starts building up and then transferring to an F# minor jam. Rick leads the band to a quick moment in E Mixolydian but transitions back into that F# Phrygian jam. It is clear every time I go back to listen to this jam that Peter was the one with the idea of how this jam should go, and looked to Rick and Ben to change the rhythmic feel. at around the 15-minute mark, Deep Purple meets Cyberpunk Disco. Peter switches to the B3 giving it the lovely distorted tone. Jeff does something with the cowbell but it was drowned out by the rest of the group. The jam builds up more from Rick, while Peter plays with his toys. Peter's organ playing during this reminds me of a siren. The whole jam reminds me of something you could hear in a boss battle in MGS or in the peak of an action scene in Bladerunner or a Jack Ryan novel. This jam peaks at the 24-minute mark and then goes back to the main jam of the original song. Even still after many listens, this still blows my mind away like it did the first time. 

After this storm that was the nearly 30-minute jam of a lifetime, Turned Clouds pops up as the closer. Very light and upbeat version. Like earlier, a funkier Easy Wind but with solos in the style of Medeski, Scofield, Martin & Wood. 

Mr. Action is the encore. Super fun song and a fitting goodnight for the audience, waiting for some familiar faces to see them tomorrow night.

I watched Night 2 from home, but this still baffles me to this day. If you want to get into Goose and like Echo, THIS is the version I would recommend. Probably one of the best concerts I've ever gone to.

 

 

 

troyvandamme August 1, 2023
This was my first show. A debacle with Uber getting to the show made us miss the first half of Slow Ready but we could still hear it after just getting in the doors. Bob Don with the extended jam was my highlight of the night - and to follow it up with Factory Fiction was sweet. Also some guy named Trey got up on stage with them... that was cool. 

Happy for this to be my first time seeing Goose.

Jaytee July 28, 2023
additional note on (8), there were about 50 people the last time they played tempe with about 10 of us dancing face off and the Jan 26th 2022 show was near sell out. This set really showed the state of AZ what this band can do as they streatch their legs in out the jams with the transisition into electric ave being my favorite 

Jaytee July 28, 2023
Gooses first time on the west coast and you can tell they have the feelers out. Ben has noted that they could feel the awkwardness in the room when they opened with mustang sally. The band starts out of the gate with nice solo rotations and the crowd begins to warm up to them. they played support for PPPP with about 50 people in attendance for this set

beeugos July 25, 2023
Suchhhh a great show. Immaculate crowd vibes, it felt like a festival in there.

Highlights:



A very uplifting, eager, and psychedelic All I Need jam. Just as Goosey as it gets with the crowd filtering in.

A crunchy California Magic - Pete leaves nothing on the table with his organ solo between verses. Rick displays great pacing and leaves a nice amount of space between licks.

Ben charging into the disco / 4-on-the-floor beat during the last 5ish minutes of Red Bird, leading to a Himalayan peak.

The Hungersite jam - the band showed great restraint here playing with dynamics. Trevor finds a bass line similar to Joe Dart and Vulfpeck's "Beastly". They ride it out for a bit, Pete switches to the clav and Rick loses his shit!

Fish in the Sea was a dance party. Jeff shines.

The dark space jam at the end of This Old Sea! The band broke out their new toys and had some fun with it. You could hear Trevor's psytrance/dub influences here.

FF closer, what else can you ask for.


NightRaysAppreciator July 12, 2023
Must Listen Goose.

 

Best Red Bird to date

Best Please Forgive me to date 

Top 5 Animal

Top 3 Empress if not the best to date

 

Factory Fiction. 

 

A++

grateful to have been there:)

 

DrJamvehicle July 7, 2023
Show brings the heat from whales through pancakes in set 1.

 

Set two is defined by two exploratory jams with a boiling hot tea that divulges into a bliss jam. Quite literally left me laughing like an idiot with my mouth open.

Madhuvan closes the set in an icing on the cake manner.

Other highlights include Borne, and the way it is.

GratefulGooseGizzards July 5, 2023
Couldn't have asked for a more perfect Great Blue set. Played all the songs youd want to hear them play and gave us some monster jams in the process. My favorite jam had to have been crossfaded mammoths. That one started kinda slow then gradually got more and more intense and driven. Finally got my Doc Brown!!! Praying for some type of SBD release of this show, would love to revisit it at some point. Definitely a once in a lifetime experience getting to see Peter's old band. Hopefully they keep doing occasional shows, as these guys are incredible and have some amazing songs. 

nevergetout May 5, 2023
The show opens with a Drive, and it does what a good set opener should do. Next up is Dr. Darkness, a great second-slot choice, followed by Turbulence & the Night Rays, which creates a great three-hit punch to open the show. That Turbulence hit a really nice jam.

All I Need follows, and while there's no second jam, the first does all of the work. It quickly gets to a blissful place before evolving into a more layered and textured funky rock. It's sort of dark and moody but fun at the same time. The jam is great.

Earthling or Alien? then brings the funk for a bit, followed by Animal which continues the grooving. The jam settles into a relaxed groove early on with Peter on the piano and Rick laying down some rhythm stuff. I think that the jam loses some steam following the beginning of Rick's soloing. Overall, it's still a pretty darn good first set.

The second part of the Animal jam serves as a high energy closer, even though it doesn't have much depth to it.

The second set kicks off with a powerful Tumble that takes the audience on a journey through a deep and funky jam. The melodic section that follows gives the music a spacey quality before Ben brings back a groove that gets the crowd moving again. Throughout the jam, Peter's dissonant and reverbed piano adds an unsettling element to the vibe, while Trevor and Rick keep a happy-sounding groove going. The jam eventually gives way to a fast-paced Goosey groove that gets the energy pumping. A quick Western Sun and Arrow follow, with a decent jam that segues perfectly into Sinnerman. This one has a great groove, with Rick's slow and melodic playing on top of it. The set ends with a rock-out to the end of Sinnerman, leaving the crowd energized and ready for the encore. The band wraps up the night with Flodown, which may not be my first choice, but it's clear that the audience loves it, especially that one guy. Overall a good show with a couple standouts.

Garmerr March 24, 2023
Total Bangah.

Fun start Flopener, ripping good Elizabeth, and some soft core porn abduction during E or A? to close out set 1. 2nd set was the stuff of which dreams are made.

Creatures to open featured some spirited play and Hungersite lit up the room like an electric factory. A Mt.Rushmore of Red Bird performances. A crunchy Bob Don and then some fresh Pancakes to close out set 2. Peter flashed some serious dance moves during Slow Ready. 

deathcab January 5, 2023
4/5

good pancakes opener.

20 min madhuvan and 20 min arrow packed in a two hour festival set.

two barnburner covers with don't do it and hot tea. possibly the best hot tea.

nice dripfield to close 2022 summer tour.

awesome value for a festival set. went for quality over quantity.

deathcab January 5, 2023
4/5. first show so heavy bias here.

hot tea blazed open the show.

dripfield -> slow ready -> fish in the sea for spacey vibes.

electric avenue as a 3:45am payoff for everyone that stuck around.

then a lovely empress that went until 4:10am.

hope it was a good practice for the band before radio city music hall.

 

deathcab January 5, 2023
4.5/5

into the myst -> arcadia was the best part of the night. contains hard rocking goodness and ambient sweetness

elizabeth was a fun, rollicking cover that went into an awesome bloodbuzz ohio.

top notch echo.

slow ready ->hollywood nights was groovin 

butter rum was a blast. doobie songs was chill

Michelle_Varvelian January 4, 2023
This was my 2nd show and my 1st Tumble (the song that pulled me in).

The first set was incredible.

Honeybee--Creatures into Pumped Up Kicks. Holy Cow!

I dance cried so hard during A Western Sun.

Did the "White Lights" dance like a pro. LOL

***This Slow--Tea is glorious. :)***

It was so hot in this place...we needed it!

Dancing in the Moonlight was a sing-a-long delight.

Goose will always give us just exactly what we need.

Here at this show...we really needed WATER/AC.

When will these venues get it?

nevergetout January 3, 2023
Very good show. The first set was well played but not an essential listen. However, the second set is another story. Maybe we should let the fans pick the setlist more often ;).

Pancakes and Rosewood were an incredible one two punch to start the show off. The Pancakes jam was absolutely rockin and had a fantastic peak. Wysteria as well was a really solid version. I felt like Rick sounded particularly incredible vocal-wise for this version, which is very nice to hear. The ball-pull > Moby was a great way to get a breather which was perfect before this MONSTER Rockdale. The jam on Rockdale almost immediately was pushed into a super dark jam that quickly developed into Crazy Train teases which was very interesting, different, and cool for Goose. 

Nice little nod from Ben to our fellow Jews in the audience and then they launched into a beautifully awesome White Lights.

hootywho December 21, 2022
Literally top 3 concert experiences of my entire life. Started out with the Yeti sandwich with a good ol Colorado special, pumped up kicks thrown in the middle. Jive 1 was up next and it was a solid 11 minute masterpiece. We knew tonight was gonna be some next level goosing after that number. Next came the  Slow, funked out Echo of a rose. It was soooo dope. The floor was packed and grooving together as one. While tuning inbetween songs, rick teased a eoa lick and the crowd went crazy. Pete then asked if there were any alien in the room tonight and the we went even crazier. The set ender was probably one of the coolest moments of the night. When the entire crowd was singing along to No rain i stood there and listened from the floor and it sounded like i was in the biggest church choir in the world. It was very special moment and Im glad i got to experience it with about 700 of my closest friends. Set two started out with a great new FTP song by the Goose from Connecticut called Mr Action. It started out with a few licks that sounded like another goose song that i couldnt quite put my thumb on, and then rick dropped the lyrics "Mr Action...King of misdirection..." LOL you guys are good at the subliminal troll move. lol Next came the moment that made the entire weekend! On night 2 of goosemas i wrote Fast All I Need on a ball for the bingo thing. I also leading up to goosemas, wrote several of the band members on social media requesting Fast All I Need....well it turns out they were listening and to my amazement Fast ALL I NEED WAS ALL I NEEDED AND IT CAME! I fucking lost it and danced harder than i have ever danced before. The drum battle in the middle between jeb and ben was sooo good. and rick just slays the solo at the end. when it quieted down, i yelled "who read my ball?!" and rick smirked and pete laughed out loud. my whole heart and soul was content after that but they were like we aint fuckin done. here is a crosseyed from the depths of hell, and in the best way possible. I heard rick try to go into crossyed the night before in the second set, so to hear it on night 3 was just perfect. the jam on the back end of this number was the darkest and most evil jam ive ever heard goose do. and it was devine. im so blessed to have got to be in that room that night. next came the spirt of the dark horse. Ive never been a big fan of that song, but boy was that shit beautiful that night. rick took me to another place outside of the fox with that music. it was trancending af. Whip it was fun and clearly pete's idea. lol so ready was the sing along banger that we all needed. elmeg encore that was donor requested was really good. love me some elmeg. brokedown palace is a core four dead song only imo and i hate when goose covers the dead, so uh yea theres that.....disco inferno was really fun too. pete was having a blast as were we all in the crowd, letting our inner 70's freak flag fly. all in all this show was up there for me in all time shows. like i said top 3 of all time. GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOSSSEEEEEEEE. Honk! see ya all at the next one. one love.

Rdegregory22 December 11, 2022
This was my first Goose show after having just kind of stumbled in to them.  I thought the show was killer from start to finish.  Loved the arrow opener.  I thought they fit in really well with everyone else in the stage that night. For my tickets for the show in Birmingham. I assume it's probably the last time I'll see them in a small venue for under forty dollars.

hootywho December 6, 2022
Was my first show. Was third row from the rail, Tweeks side. I remember it being hot af inside the venue. I remember being really stoked when Yeti hit. But the highlight was the Redbird debut and the amazing Fifth of Beethoven. The empress was really good too. This show, the people around me on the floor, the people i met afterwards on van ness. The whole goose vibe had me hooked on night one. See yall at Goosemas

jiveghost November 21, 2022
What an incredible show, we waited out the entire tour to attend this show and it paid off. Incredible playing from Rick who is showing a willingness to build on simplier themes and really drawing out more emotional playing. He was playing on what I think was a new amp head and what appeared to be Trey's original speaker cabinet, his tone was sounding so good and more mature.

Flopener opens strong and whips the arena into a frenzy with pancakes delivering the first taste of deep improvisation with a stellar jam. Turned clouds is always welcomed and then dripfield proves the band is ready for arenas with its massive groove that gives way to another incredible jam that sees Rick building great themes. The band works into a firey groove before giving way to a soft ending and peter takes the opportunity to give a touching speech of appriciation before Trey enters the stage. BIG RED READING ROCKDALE, killer version that is a must hear. Trey and Rick harmonizing on the songs main lick which feeds the Allman Bros vibe they have been curating this tour. Elmeg with Trey is certainly a big deal as this is Ricks take on a gamehenge inspired story telling song, this version doesnt go to deep so that band has a few extra minutes to give us another song. Hot MF Tea with the horns was a vibe, why did they wait this long to bust this out I don't know but I am happy to have witnessed it. 

We brought my partners parents for their first goose and TAB shows. They were totally blown away, and had the biggest smiles that latest the entire set break. They both said they had't danced like that in years and that this was a top five show ever for them (one of them had seen the dead starting all the way back in 74 so thats quite a compliment). Goose, their team and this entire community should feel very proud.

Peace & Love !

crf3rd October 22, 2022
This was a hard show for both me and my wife because we worked very long days and then drove over to New Orleans. We are in our fifties, so don't have quite the energy we used to! But this was our first Goose show. I had never heard Elizabeth until the opener. I found it an endearing tune and a good upbeat way to start it off. From top to bottom this show was tight and energetic. Loved the covers! A great first Goose show and one that I know we'll appreciate even more as time goes on.

crf3rd October 22, 2022
My second Goose show, first was 10/6. I don't know what to say other than my wife and I were blown away by this show. The Madhuvan was as good as any Phish jam I've seen in a long time. Tumble and California Magic were two songs I wanted to hear that weekend and we got them in a 1-2 opening punch. Bob Don was mesmerizing. I keep saying to my wife that I feel like Goose is on the precipice of becoming the next great jamband. I feel like I felt when I first got into Phish in the nineties. 

cgroove October 5, 2022
My first show due to Covid cancellations (4/24/20 at The Cap). Well executed festie set. Gets the fiver because 1st show & I've been hooked since. Will always cherish this one and luckily the memory is very vivid.

Highlights: Yeti, Madhuvan and my first TrevorBass Empress solo. Will always cherish this one

Jive_I September 25, 2022
'Twas my 1st Goose show. Madhuvan opener was what the doctor ordered. Great opener. All I Need > Hot Tea > Dancing In The Moonlight > Hot Tea. Yes please. 

I was hooked. Soon after this show, we were on the road to Chicago for the following nights show. Thank you Goose! 

Walk_the_Unseen July 27, 2022
The heat wave during these NC shows was no joke. Fortunately for everyone in attendance the band answered in kind.

Their night in Raleigh began with a concise but very hot Hungersite, quickly transitioning to a cleanly performed Inside Out. Butterflies' second appearance was tight and had an enjoyably dissonant climax. The Madhuvan jam was the highlight of the evening, lasting nearly 30 minutes and boasting several unique improv sections (namely a very heavy riff section and an absolutely stunning second peak from Rick a bit later). Additional texture and contributions from Peter and the percussion can't be understated either. This is a truly magnificent rendition of Madhuvan and probably the best I've heard.

Later on, Bob Don was hot as usual. The Arrow jam found a moody groove by the end and they rode it out with no forced peak, which I always appreciate. This Drive is another highlight, with its rhythmic jam and unique denouement.

This is an absolutely killer show, and one I was lucky to attend.

jiveghost November 16, 2021
My first Goose show, we had such an incredible time at this show we decided to drive to Charleston and catch another. Hope to see the band at this site again, maybe for their own festival?
Lead the way kicks off the first goose show of the year, and delivers a beautiful uplifting jam that immediately captures the crowd. This version of Jive 2 gives us our first "high speed" jam on this song and the boys are grooving by this point. Time to Flee gives another highlight, the jam builds to a ripping peak before concluding to Gun Street Girl, I have never heard this song but it was a perfect breather. This cover stays in my listening rotation. Turned clouds is pretty straight forward here before we get to the true highlight of the set and possibly the show. All I Need -> Jive Lee is MUST LISTEN Goose. AIN starts out with its usual percussive jam but with so much extra flavor with Jeff way up in the mix. Rick brings in the delay and the band boards the rocketship to a massive peak before a modulation -> Jive Lee this version feels pretty different from what I've heard before. Trev is dropping bombs and the jam goes pretty deep before a set break. 
Wysteria starts the second set with a "micro jam" that really felt like it should have kept going. Inside Out another song this band introduced me to, they really do this song justice. Out of the space comes Flodown with a really cool tease from Rick that adds a creepy energy to the intro before they play a great and straightforward version of the song. ARCADIA shows up, totally random and brilliant call from the band that wasn't originally planned, this was the song that won me over and it felt so good to get this, the band builds it to a rocking conclusion, there wasnt a still body in the Suwannee. Rosewood heart is another favorite, this version is pretty straight forward with some type 1 improv before a great segue into Mas Que Nada. Somewhere in this second set it started to rain and it did not matter at all, I think this only made my first Goose experience even better (and seemed to be a theme for the year with a bunch of rained out shows). The rain inspired the band to bail on the slow ready jam section and move to Empress which is such a brilliant composition. Empress rages and closes out the show.
I left with my jaw on the floor, totally exhausted from dancing in the rain, depleted of serotonin for the rest of the weekend. This show is really incredible and I feel like I will be chasing this "high" for a while. 

jiveghost November 16, 2021
Really great show, with it being Peter's mother's birthday it felt very much like the Handini show! The venue is gorgeous, tons of space, and perfect weather. I'd love to see a return to this site in the future. Starts out with a great cover, Western Sun has a different feel although not noted, with Peter adding pedal steel type sounds to really bring the "western" energy to this version. Another peter song in the whales. HOT TEA, this is a quintessential version, despite the slight drop in pace this version funks out with the best of them, definitely a must listen. Peter shouts out the folks who are watching from their boats besides the venue. Lead the way continues its path of being an underdog jam vehicle, solid jam. White Light dedicated to Peter's mom and gets a little treatment. First set closes with the Hornsby cover and it flirts with going deep and dark. Second set highlights include This Old Sea which has a vibey new feel and a Harry Hood-eske jam, this is my go to version of this song. Myst brings an interesting jam with great playing from Trevor. Drive rocks the beautiful venue with bumble bee and ghostbusters teases. We get a few more covers to close the show. Pretty solid. 


Powered by Songfish